11th SGS Annual Meeting | Fribourg | 14 to 15 February 2019

« Sport and Brain» 

Fribourg
 


 

11th Annual Meeting of the Swiss Society of Sport Science

The positive effects of physical activity on our health and well-being are undisputed today. Physical activity demonstrably reduces the risk for a large number of (lifestyle) diseases such as cardiovascular diseases, diabetes, obesity, osteoporosis, depression, and even cancer, and is increasingly used in the therapy of these diseases. With every new insight the conviction grows that physical activity is a real miracle cure for a multitude of diseases – and it's completely free! Unfortunately, this knowledge does not (yet) affect the physical activity behavior of our modern society.

Our physical activity behavior is undoubtedly governed – consciously or unconsciously – by our brain. Only in recent years, however, have scientists become increasingly interested in how, conversely, the physical activity behavior affects our brain. Today, the topic is more relevant than ever and more and more evidence indicates that physical activity positively affects not only our physical but also our mental health and our cognitive abilities. Although the exact mechanisms are not yet understood in detail, it is now considered certain that physical activity has a positive effect on the plasticity of the brain and thus on cognitive functions and intelligence. It is, therefore, not surprising that physically active children often stand out for better academic performance than inactive ones or that exercise helps to maintain cognitive abilities in old age.

Despite the many positive aspects, sport can also have negative effects on our brain. A major topic, which is only gradually being given the attention it deserves, are the many concussions in sports such as ice hockey, American football or boxing. Today we know that multiple traumatic brain injuries can lead to neurodegenerative changes in the brain (chronic traumatic encephalopathy). The consequences are serious long-term damage, such as cognitive impairments, memory disorders, Alzheimer's disease or depression.

Therefore, we would like to dedicate this year's 11th Annual Meeting of the SGS to the various topics around the interplay between physical activity and the brain and look forward to exciting, new insights into this important topic.

  

                            logo sgs            UNF Logo 100pr pos

11. SGS-Jahrestagung | Freiburg | 14.–15.2.2019

« Sport und Gehirn »

Fribourg

 


 

11. Jahrestagung der sportwissenschaftlichen Gesellschaft der Schweiz (SGS)

Die positiven Auswirkungen von Sport und Bewegung auf unsere Gesundheit und unser Wohlbefinden sind heute unbestritten. Körperliche Aktivität senkt nachweislich das Risiko für eine Menge von (Wohlstands-) Erkrankungen, wie Herz-Kreislauf-Leiden, Diabetes, Adipositas, Osteoporose, Depressionen und sogar Krebs und wird immer häufiger auch therapeutisch eingesetzt. Mit jeder neuen Erkenntnis wächst die Überzeugung, dass körperliche Aktivität ein echtes Wundermittel gegen eine Vielzahl von Erkrankungen ist – und dies völlig kostenlos! Leider wirkt sich dieses Wissen (noch) nicht auf das Bewegungsverhalten unserer modernen Gesellschaft aus.

Unser Bewegungsverhalten wird zweifellos – bewusst oder unbewusst – durch unser Gehirn bestimmt. Erst in den letzten Jahren aber hat sich die Wissenschaft vermehrt dafür interessiert, wie umgekehrt das Bewegungsverhalten unser Gehirn beeinflusst. Heute ist das Thema aktueller denn je und immer mehr Erkenntnisse zeigen, dass Sport und Bewegung nicht nur unsere körperliche, sondern auch unsere mentale Gesundheit und unsere kognitiven Fähigkeiten positiv beeinflussen. Obwohl die genauen Mechanismen noch nicht im Detail verstanden werden, gilt es heute als gesichert, dass Sport und Bewegung einen positiven Effekt auf die Plastizität des Gehirns und somit auf kognitive Funktionen und Intelligenz haben. So erstaunt es nicht, dass physisch aktive Kinder oft durch bessere schulische Leistungen auffallen als inaktive oder dass Bewegung hilft, die kognitiven Fähigkeiten im Alter zu erhalten.

Trotz der vielen positiven Aspekte kann Sport auch negative Auswirkungen auf unser Gehirn haben. Ein grosses Thema, dem erst nach und nach die nötige Beachtung geschenkt wird, sind hier die vielen Hirnerschütterungen in Sportarten wie Eishockey, American Football oder Boxen. Heute weiss man, dass multiple Schädel-Hirn-Traumata zu neurodegenerativen Veränderungen im Gehirn (chronische traumatische Enzephalopathie) führen können. Die Folge sind gravierende Langzeitschäden, wie kognitive Einschränkungen, Erinnerungsstörungen, Alzheimer oder Depressionen.

Wir möchten deshalb die diesjährige 11. Jahrestagung der SGS den verschiedenen Themen rund um das Zusammenspiel zwischen Sport/Bewegung und Gehirn widmen und freuen uns auf spannende, neue Einsichten in diese sehr aktuelle und wichtige Thematik.



                                     logo sgs               UNF Logo 100pr pos